Homebrew Router at Arstechnica

As a follow-on to the earlier article I linked to comparing homebrew versus consumer routers, ArsTechnica has published an article with instructions on building a homebrew router.

I must admit I am very interested in such a project. I am looking at upgrading the home network, which includes obtaining more bandwidth from Verizon. I would like to have my Optical Network Terminal (ONT) switched from coaxial output to the Ethernet output. With such a configuration, I could install my own router rather than depending on the router+wifi combo that Verizon provided. Why? Just so I can have more control over my network, and I won’t have Verizon always telling me that I have too many devices and need to buy even more bandwidth. I don’t like how they can inspect all of the devices in my home network.

I am trying to decide the route to go, however. Part of me says I just need to find a consumer router and throw OpenWRT on that. I am tempted, but it can be hassle to buy a router with 802.11 AC that will work 100% guaranteed. The other option I am considering is getting a plan old router with no wireless, such as a Mikrotek, and use it out of the box. Or maybe even a plain old router with just OpenWRT? Then I could get a wireless access point and have it hook up directly to the dedicated Ethernet switch I acquired. I like the idea of having multiple devices, each handling a specific job. The downside though is that if something goes down while I’m at work or traveling for work, then I’d have to walk my wife through the troubleshooting rather than having her go flip a switch on the Verizon router.

Decisions…decisions…

Leave a Reply

