More Synology hang-ups

I had some downtime this morning, so I logged into my DS216+ web UI to check on things. The device immediately woke up upon entering its IP address into my web browser which caused me to let out a sigh of relief, thing back to the last time I tried.  My spouse has been heavily using the device lately moving all sorts of photos onto the unit or to her PC. As a file store I really am happy with this NAS, it works seamlessly with her Windows computer and her iPhone. I mapped the photo directory as a share driver on her Windows computer and all has been well. Yet somehow I knew it was too early still to declare victory.

Sure enough there was a DSM operating system software update.  DSM 6.0.2-8451 Update 6 was available, so I went ahead and chose to update. Unfortunately, the NAS hung when trying to reboot! Again power management issues! The status and network LEDs were out, the HDD indicator lamps were solid, and the dreaded dual-blue LEDs by the power button were flashing, indicating an error state. Once again I had to go over to the device and physically remove power.

I verified that if I manually request a reboot or shutdown, the NAS does come back up. At this point the only issue seems to be with rebooting after updating the DSM operating system. It is a minor nuisance at this time, but I am going to put in a trouble ticket to see if there is a solution to this issue. Perhaps Intel firmware version M.615 that Synology seems to hesitant to offer to the user community? What do they know about M.615 that makes them so hesitant?

Leave a Reply

